Sorry!

For full functionality of this application it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

Bookworm Central Bookstore

>>

It\'s the End of the World as I Know It

 

Description

"Derrick is building a doomsday shelter to prepare for the apocalypse when he makes friends with Misty, the girl next door"--

Publisher Marketing:
Derrick is sure that doomsday is coming, and he's prepping to survive--whether his friends believe him or not--in this middle grade novel for readers of Gary Schmidt, Gordon Korman, and Jack Gantos

Ever since his mother was killed in the line of duty in Iraq, Derrick has been absolutely certain that the apocalypse is coming. And he's prepared: he's got plenty of canned goods, he's fully outfitted with HAZMAT suits, and he's building himself a sturdy fallout shelter. When his neighbor Misty insists on helping with the shelter, Derrick doesn't think it's such a good idea. Misty's just had a kidney transplant, and her reaction to her brush with death is the opposite of Derrick's: where Derrick wants to hide, Misty wants to see and do everything. But as confident as Misty is, Derrick's doomsday fears just keep getting worse. And Derrick's promised apocalypse day begins with a very strange disaster, Derrick and Misty have to figure out a way to survive--especially when the end of the world as they know it looks nothing like they expected.

Product Details

Awards:

ISBN–13: 9780735228016

Publisher: Dial Books

Publication Date: Sep-2019

Pages: 320

Lexile Level: 0540

Ages: 10 - 14