Measuring Up-pb



Description

"Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-mâa's seventieth birthday together. Since she cant go to A-mâa, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-mâa to her by winning the grand prize in a kids cooking contest to pay for A-mâa's plane ticket! Theres just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food. And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she's determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-mâa, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too?"--

Publisher Marketing:

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu!

"A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world." --Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops

"A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures." --Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the Wall

Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má's, seventieth birthday together.

Since she can't go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids' cooking contest to pay for A-má's plane ticket! There's just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food.

And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she's determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too?

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List

Featured in Parents Magazine Book Nook October issue

A CBC Hot off the Press October Selection

Product Details

Awards:

ISBN13: 9780062973863

Publisher: Harperalley

Publication Date: Oct-2020

Pages: 208

Lexile Level: 0360

Ages: 08 - 12